TikTok’s Working on a New, Opt-In Function to Show You Who Viewed Your Profile


I’m not totally certain what worth this may carry, however TikTok is reportedly working on bringing back the option to see who viewed your profile within the app over the previous 30 days, which would offer extra transparency over person curiosity.

As you possibly can see in these screenshots, uncovered by app researcher Kev Adriano (and shared by Matt Navarra), TikTok seems to be testing an opt-in performance that might allow you to see who’s testing your TikTok profile, whereas customers would additionally find a way to see whenever you’ve checked out their profile as nicely when this function is switched on.

Which TikTok used to have, as a means to improve connections within the app.

TikTok profile views notification

As you possibly can see right here, TikTok used to present a itemizing of people that’d checked out your profile, with a view to serving to you discover others to observe who might have related, shared pursuits. TikTok eliminated the performance early final 12 months, amid varied investigations into its information sharing processes, and with a number of high-profile cases of TikTok stalkers inflicting real-world issues for platform stars, it made sense that it may not need to share this data anymore, because it probably solely will increase nervousness for individuals who might have considerations.

But I assume, if stalkers wished to try your profile they wouldn’t flip the function on, so possibly, by making it opt-in, that reduces that aspect? Maybe.

I don’t know, I don’t see a heap of worth right here, and whereas I can perceive, when an app is beginning out, how this kind of consciousness may assist to improve community connections, I’m unsure that it serves any actual worth for TikTok, aside from offering perception into who’s poking round, and sure growing considerations about sure individuals who preserve coming again to try your profile repeatedly.

Maybe there’s a worth for aspiring influencers, in reaching out to potential collaborators who’ve checked out their stuff, or possibly it really works for hook-ups, if that’s what you need to use TikTok for, which is why the opt-in aspect is essential.

But very like the identical function on LinkedIn, largely, it appears fairly ineffective. I imply, it’s considerably attention-grabbing to know that someone from a firm that you simply’d like to work for checked out your profile, but when they did, they usually didn’t really feel compelled to get in contact, who actually cares?

There is a restricted worth proposition right here, in that getting in contact with those that did try your profile might end in a business relationship, related to the above be aware on potential collaborators on TikTok. But I’d have an interest to see the precise proportion of profitable contacts made is as a results of these insights.

I can’t think about it’s very excessive – however possibly, if you happen to give customers the selection, they usually explicitly opt-in, there may be some worth there.

Seems like stalker monitoring to me, and potential angst and battle as a outcome.

There’s no official phrase from TikTok as to whether or not this selection will ever be launched at this stage.





Source link